James D. Short's Blog

The Ramblings of a Short

Thanksgiving Day Ponderings

I’m sitting in my vehicle in the parking lot of a grocery store on this frigid Thanksgiving morning in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Every other year we come here to be with my wife’s family. You see, this all started about ten and a half years ago when I first spotted this lovely lady I now call my wife. Standing on the platform at a youth conference called Heritage here in the Springs and there on the front row…my my my… I remember that feeling!

Fall Family Pics

Skipping past all of the wonderful and exciting details of our courtship, marriage about four years later, then our first baby boy, brings me to this point today. I love my wife dearly and my son more than I ever thought possible. I have a good job, reliable transportation, a good home and low debt for which to be thankful. I have wonderful family, true friends, a great Pastor and church to call home.

However, I can see the hand of God working in each of these things for which I am very thankful. I dont have the time nor do you have the patience to read all of the ways God has orchestrated my life. Suffice it to say, He knows the steps I take because He is the one who orders those steps. I have not always followed Him as I should, but time and again He has given me Grace in my time of need. So, I’m thankful most today for God. Without Him in my life, I do not believe these other things could be as wonderful as they are.

All He really asks of any of us is to follow Him. Jesus is still saying “Follow me, and I will MAKE you”. What is it that God wants to make you? Are you willing to follow Him and find out?

November 25, 2010 Posted by | Family, Personal Postings, Religious | Comments Off on Thanksgiving Day Ponderings